spartacus

Announcing The Sword & Sandal Blogathon!

Yes, I’ve finally decided to do it: host my own film blogathon!

I considered many, many different topics for my first blogathon, but kept coming back to the Sword & Sandal epics that have captivated film and TV viewers from the silent era right up to the present day. Please join in and celebrate the clash of steel in the arena, the miraculous events of the Bible, the political upheavals of ancient empires!

The event will take place July 8, 9 & 10, 2016. I will not be assigning days. Simply post your articles on or before these dates.

I will allow articles about films made in any country from the birth of film to the present day.

Since there are so many great TV shows that fall under this subject, I will allow them, too. One-off TV movies, mini-series, and weekly TV shows are all permissible.

NO DUPLICATES. There is so much to choose from that I ask you please not to repeat films/topics. However, different versions of the same story are fine.

You do not have to cover a specific film or TV show. General/overview topics about the genre would be great!

What kinds of films/TV shows are eligible?

Bible stories, both Old and New Testament.

Fantasy movies based on ancient mythology.

Anything taking place during ancient history—from biblical times to the fall of the Roman Empire.

Barbarians, both historical and fantasy versions.

Sword and Sandal movies tend to take place in Europe (Greece & Rome), North Africa (Egypt), and the Middle East (what is now modern Israel, Iran, etc.). I will stretch the time constraint to allow other areas of the world. For instance, if you’re dying to write about a Genghis Khan movie, I’ll say yes, even though that’s after the fall of the Roman Empire.

Modern retellings/reimaginings: I will allow this on a case by case basis. If you’re not sure it fits the theme, run it by me and I’ll let you know if it is O.K.

Comedies/parodies and animated films are also welcome!

If you need some suggestions, here are a few lists to help you make your choice:

Films Set During Antiquity

Films Based on the Bible

Films Based on Greco-Roman Mythology

Italian Peplum Films

These lists are not comprehensive! They are just to help inspire you.

I couldn’t find a good list of TV shows, so here are a few suggestions:

I, Claudius

A.D. (miniseries)

Hercules: The Legendary Journeys

Xena

Rome

Spartacus

To claim your topic, please request your choice in the comments section below, or contact me on Twitter (@DebbieVee). Include the name and URL of your blog. Then grab one of the banners below, display it on your blog and link it back to this post.

Thank you so much for joining in!

THE ROSTER SO FAR:

Serendipitous Anachronisms: Jason and the Argonauts (1963)

A Shroud of Thoughts: The 7th Voyage of Sinbad (1958)

Silver Screenings: The Robe (1953)

Movies Silently: Nero (1909)

Moon In GeminiDemetrius and the Gladiators (1954)

Defiant Success: The Vikings (1958)

GirlsDoFilm: The Trojan Women (1971)

Bible Films BlogThe Prodigal (1955)

Critica Retro: Helen of Troy (1956)

Bewitched with Classic TV: Three Stooges TV episodes set in ancient times

In the Good Old Days of Classic Hollywood: Hercules (1958); Agnes Moorehead’s religious beliefs

portraitsbyjenni: Samson and Delilah (1949)

The Cinematic Frontier: The Ten Commandments (1956)

Radiator Heaven: Conan the Barbarian (1982)

The Midnight Drive-In: The Golden Voyage of Sinbad (1973) & Sinbad and the Eye of the Tiger (1977)

Old Hollywood Films: The 1937 and unfinished version of I, Claudius

Thoughts All Sorts300 (2006)

Cary Grant Won’t Eat You: Great fight scenes in Sword & Sandal movies

Voyages Extraordinaires: The Ten Commandments (1923)

Meredy.com: Ben Hur (1907)

Film Music Central: Quo Vadis (1951)

Superfluous Film Commentary: Beastmaster (1982)

Pop Culture Reverie: Clash of the Titans (1981)

Movierob: Spartacus (1960), Alexander (2004), Cleopatra (1963)

A Scunner Darkly: Caligula (1979)

Once Upon a Screen: History of the World, Part 1 (1981)

Destroy All Fanboys!: Hundra (1983)

City of Kik: Gladiator (2000)

MovieMovieBlogBlog: Troy (2004)

 

BANNERS:

S&S1

S&S2

S&S3

S&S4

S&S5

S&S6

S&S7

S&S8

 

 

90 thoughts on “Announcing The Sword & Sandal Blogathon!

  1. Hi Debbie, hosting is a ton of fun I am sure your event will be a success!

    I am teaching this summer, but this is super tempting… Fortunately, I am teaching a film appreciation class and Jason and the Argonauts is on my schedule!

    So count me in!

    Summer
    Serendipitous Anachronisms
    serendipitousanachronisms.wordpress.com
    Jason and the Argonauts

    1. At first I wasn’t quite sure it fits the topic, but Sinbad is listed under Peplum Movies so it qualifies–it’s yours!

      So happy to see so much love for Harryhausen movies! 🙂

  2. Hi, Debra! This is gonna be such a fun event! Sign me up for Helen of Troy (1956), please!
    I’m Le from the blog Critica Retro
    Cheers!

    1. I’m so glad someone wants to do a piece on comedy/parody of the genre! YES!

      It so happens I don’t have anything scheduled yet for the weekend of April 22. Let me think about it and I’ll get back to you about which couple I’ll write about.

      1. Sounds good! There are still several good couples that haven been taken yet 🙂 Looking forward to this blogathon!

  3. Hi Debbie. I have a topic in mind, though I’m not sure it will fit the perimeters of the blogathon. Agnes Moorehead was very religious and solely relied on the bible to get her through daily life. Her father was a pastorate, and he and Agnes’s mother instilled religion into their children from a young age. So I’m wondering if I could do a post on Agnes and her sheer dedication to the bible and religion and an analysis of “The Conqueror” (1956 ). There’s a video on Youtube of Agnes at Easter doing a bible reading that inspires it. Let me know if that will work??.

    1. Well, that’s an interesting angle! I’m curious to see how you’re going to connect that to The Conqueror, so sure, I’ll put you down for this. Thanks for joining in!

  4. Have to come back to this. My first thought was to grab “The Conqueror” since I am a big John Wayne fan and have yet to get around to watching this. I’m in, but I’ll have to get back to you on the movie.

      1. OK, since I see you allowed “The 7th Voyage of Sinbad” I’d like to do two other Ray Harryhausen/Sinbad movies, both of which I did see with my parents and sister at the drive-in when I was younger, so it fits in with my drive-in motif of my blog. The two Ray Harryhausen/Sinbad movies are “The Golden Voyage of Sinbad” and “Sinbad and the Eye of the Tiger” (I ask for two because I am desperately trying to get back to the original motif of my blog, a true drive-in double feature.) And maybe with the long lead-time window I can actually find both on DVD…

  5. Hi Debbie. Can I join in please? I’d love to write a bit on Centurion (2010). Or 300 (2006). Can’t make up my mind…decisions decisions. I’ll sleep on it tonight. (I hope I understood correctly that it can be from any year.)

    1. Yes, any film or TV show from any year that fits the topic is eligible. I’ll put you down with a TBD (to be determined). Let me know when you’ve decided. Welcome aboard!

  6. I have a friend who could do a great guest post for me on this. He just asked me whether a post on the best swashbuckling scenes (as in actual quality of the swordplay) would work for my blog, and when I sent him here, said he’d love to write on great fight scenes in Sword and Sandal films. Would that work?

    1. Absolutely! It doesn’t have to be about a specific film–general topics are welcome.

      Please let me know if you want me to list this under your blog or your friend’s. Thanks so much!

  7. Thanks, Debbie! Just mine. He doesn’t currently have a classic movie blog, but maybe trying it out now & then will lure him into our fold:)

  8. Yay! No one seems to have chosen Clash of the Titans (1981) yet. Can I do it?

    My blog is Pop Culture Reverie.

    popculturereverie.wordpress.com

    1. So glad someone finally claimed Spartacus, I was thisclose to taking it on myself. 🙂 Thanks so much for participating. I will be updating the roster soon.

      1. Hope I find time for the hours upon hours that ive committed to 😉 of the three Sparticus is actually the only one ive seen and it was a long time ago. Really looking forward to all of them!

  9. I’m hoping to contribute to this, Debbie. Narrowing down my topic choices — it’s between Gladiator and the Franco Zeffirelli mini-series Jesus of Nazareth.

  10. Hi Debbie – Just ran into this. 🙂 Can I do Mel Brooks’ The Roman Empire as seen in History of the world part 1?

    Aurora
    Once Upon a Screen
    @CitizenScreen

  11. Dang it ,Deb! You got me to knock a hole in my stupid schedule of crazy just for YOU. Okay, I’m in. Matt Cimber’s HUNDRA (1983) is my choice. Such a fun film almost no one knows about!

  12. Sorry it’s taken me so long to decide what film to do, but please could I do “The Prodigal” (1955) starring Lana Turner?

    Thanks

    Matt

  13. Hi Debbie. I’m wondering if I could change my entry? I tried to watch “The Conqueror” for the first time, and it was awfully bad, and the screen size of the movie was only tiny with the wide screen version that the DVD of it is in. Would I be able to do the 1958 version of “Hercules” instead?

Leave a Reply

