Announcing The Costume Drama Blogathon!

Time for a new blogathon!

My blogging habits have been spotty lately, I know. A broken ankle and several other personal issues have made it difficult to post regularly. The good news is my ankle is just about completely recovered, and other areas of my life seem to be finally calming down into a new routine.

So why not host a new blogathon?

This time, I’m inviting you to write about your favorite costume drama.

Rules:

I’m using the term “drama” loosely. The film(s) you choose to write about can also be comedies, musicals, etc., if you like.

However, I would prefer “costume” to not be synonymous with “period” drama. I know many people think of movies set in the 1980s as “period” films. Anything set early 20th Century and before is fine. (Let’s use 1920 as a completely arbitrary marking point.)

So any movie set 1920 and earlier is acceptable and can be set in any area of the world. The movie can have been made in any era, from any area of the world.

No duplicates, please. I am allowing ONE exception: there is a post from an earlier blogathon that was submitted late which I never got a chance to promote. It’s about Gone With the Wind. I will promote it during this blogathon, but will allow one more person to submit a post on the same topic.

The blogathon will run Friday, September 6 – Sunday, September 8. You may post any day (or earlier, if you wish).

To claim your topic, please request your choice in the comments section below, or contact me on Twitter (@DebbieVee). Include the name and URL of your blog. Then grab one of the banners below, display it on your blog and link it back to this post.

Thanks for joining in!

THE ROSTER SO FAR:

Moon in Gemini: The Favourite (2018)

Pure Entertainment Preservation Society: Gone With the Wind (1939, remember, one more person can choose this topic) and The Heiress (1949)

Thoughts All Sorts: Plunkett & Macleane (1999)

Caftan Woman: In Old Chicago (1937)

Cinematic Scribblings: The Leopard (1963)

Retro Movie Buff: A Scandal in Paris (1946)

Nostalgic Italian: Zorro, The Gay Blade (1981)

Pale Writer: The Last of the Mohicans (1992)

Realweegiemidget Reviews: Five favorite costume drama films

Screen Dreams: Queen Christina (1933)

A Shroud of Thoughts: The Count of Monte Cristo (1934)

Wolffian Classic Movies Digest: Thief of Bagdad (1940)

Taking Up Room: Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon (2000)

MovieMovieBlogBlog:  The Mask of Zorro (1998)

Silver Screenings: Saraband for Dead Lovers (1948)

The Stop Button: The Three Musketeers (1974)

Silver Screen Classics: The Prisoner of Zenda (1937)

Critica Retro: Scaramouche (1923)

The Midnite Drive-In: Billy the Kid Vs. Dracula (1966)  and Jesse James Meets Frankenstein’s Daughter (1966)

MovieRob: TBD

Destroy All Fanboys!: Barry Lyndon (1975)

Love Letters to Old Hollywood: The Glass Slipper (1955)

Movies Silently: Absolom (1912)

The Lonely Critic: Senso (1954)

The Good Old Days of Classic Hollywood: The Lion In Winter (1968)

18 Cinema Lane: The Littlest Horse Thieves (1976)

Silver Scenes: The Private Life of Henry VIII (1933)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

91 thoughts on “Announcing The Costume Drama Blogathon!

  1. Hello, I’d like to write about ‘A Scandal in Paris’ for Retro Movie Buff (www.retromoviebuff.com), please. Thank you!

  2. Or maybe Zorro, The Gay Blade? Sorry – I am trying to think of more movies that focus on older days. Both of mine are comedies….Zorro probably works better for costumes I am guessing. Maybe I should go with that one.

  3. Fabulous idea! Would love to do Saraband for Dead Lovers (1948), even though it stars Stewart Granger, whom I normally avoid.

    Also: I’d be posting about two weeks before the actual blogathon. Are you OK with that?

  4. I’m glad to know you’re better, Debbie, and back with a nice blogathon.
    Could I write about 1923’s Scaramouche?
    Kisses!
    Le from Critica Retro

  5. That “anywhere in the world” tripped me up. I was going to make a case that “Star Wars” qualified because, after all, it took place “a long, long time ago”… 😀
    I’m assuming the Odd West qualifies. So I’ll pick a double feature: “Billy the Kid vs. Dracula” and “Jesse James Meets Frankenstein’s Daughter”. (And now you know that “Odd” was not just a mistyping…)

  6. (Flips coin, coin bounces off head and out the nearest window, but looking down in disgust, spies a copy of Barry Lyndon he was going to send to a friend in a week). Well, you can’t go wrong with probably the best-looking period drama of that era (and some may say ever), sooo… Kubrick’s classic it is.

    1. Fantastic! One of my favorites. I would have picked it for myself if I hadn’t already written about it a few years ago. Thanks for joining in!

  7. I’d love to join with The Glass Slipper (1955)! My blog is LoveLettersToOldHollywood.blogspot.com.

  8. Debra, I feel a little gauche posting this in a comment here, but I did not find an email/contact form elsewhere on your blog and I really wanted you to be a part of this, if you’d like to be. I’m hosting a movie blogathon of my own soon, on Orson Welles: https://seanmunger.com/2019/07/29/some-kind-of-a-man-announcing-the-orson-welles-blogathon/

    I cannot get the word out by traditional means because my blog lost all its subscribers when I migrated servers not long ago, so no one knows this exists! I’m also not on Twitter anymore so I can’t spread the word there.

    All in your community are welcome and encouraged to participate. There could even be some crossover possibilities, as Orson Welles made some costume dramas (I’m thinking specifically of “The Magnificent Ambersons.”)

    Thanks for indulging me to stick my nose under the tent here. Cheers!

    1. Hi, Sean. I’d love to participate! Put me down for Touch of Evil.

      Later today I’ll link to your post on Twitter.

      (I really need to update my site and and a contact form.)

      1. Hi, I might be late with my post of Senso, I’m juggling between between this and prepping for Hurricane Dorian at the moment…

    1. Oh, and my blog is: In The Good Old Days Of Classic Hollywood. I had to comment via my Facebook account, because I’m having problems leaving comments from my blog on all WordPress blogs.

  9. Hi Debbie, writing up my post and discovered they all seem to be about Henry VIII and his six wives.. also got a wee (sneaky) Costume comedy in there too is that ok, should I miss that one out (I can easily miss out this entry)?

  10. Dear Debbie,

    This looks like a great blogathon! Thank you for promoting my “Gone with the Wind” article, although it was so shamelessly late. I really appreciate it. I would like to participate in this blogathon with a new article, if I may. I would like to take this opportunity to watch and review “The Heiress” from 1948, which is set in the Victorian Era. Also, I would like to participate with an article in my “Film Fashion Friday” series. In this series, I choose costumes from movies and use products on Amazon to illustrate how my readers can recreate these outfits for themselves. For that week, I would like to use some costume from a classic film set in the Victorian Era to describe a lady’s ensemble of modern clothes that reflects that era. Would that be alright?

    By the way, I am sorry to hear about your ankle. I hope it feels much better soon!

    Yours Hopefully,

    Tiffany Brannan

      1. Dear Debbie,

        Thank you! I am excited about this, and I won’t be late for this one.

        By the way, I would like to invite you to a blogathon my sister is hosting, “The Phantom of the Opera Blogathon.” Taking place on September 23-25, it will be dedicated to all things “phantom.” I don’t know if you are a “phan,” but we would love to have you join us! https://pureentertainmentpreservationsociety.wordpress.com/2019/08/14/its-here-the-phantom-of-the-opera-blogathon/.

        Yours Hopefully,

        Tiffany Brannan

  11. Oh my, you’re going to have to make this an annual event, with those juicy guidelines there are too many films to pick from! Can you put me down for “The Private Life of Henry VIII” ( 1933 )? I’ll definitely be picking a second film ( just need time to pick a title ). – Constance ( Silver Scenes ) silverscenesblog.blogspot.com

Leave a comment