Announcing the “You Gotta Have Friends” Blogathon!

I had such a great time hosting the Sword & Sandal Blogathon earlier this year, I’ve been eager to host another event.

This time, I’m inviting bloggers to contemplate friendships in films.

friends3 friends5

Bromances, womances, frienemies, comrades in arms, childhood chums, sidekicks, unlikely people thrown together by circumstances, devoted siblings—any way you want to interpret “friendship” is fine with me!

The relationship(s) you choose to write about can either be the main focus of a film or one element of a film.

friends1 friends7

You may write about any film from any era, silent to present day, and from any country. Short films—both live action and animated—are welcome, too!

Only two (rather loose) rules:

  1. No duplicates. However, different people can pick different films in a series, i.e. Abbott and Costello films or the Our Gang shorts. Also, if one person has chosen to write about a relationship in a film and another wants to write about a different relationship in the same film, that’s fine. For instance, Han Solo and Chewbacca/Han and Luke.
  1. Film only. No television, please. Exception to this rule is if the characters also appear in feature films. So if you’re dying to write about Captain Kirk and Spock from Star Trek or Carrie and her buds from Sex and the City, that’s O.K. as long as you focus on one or more of their feature film appearances.

friends9 friends8

The blogathon will run Friday, November 18 – Sunday, November 20. You may post any day (or earlier, if you wish).

To claim your topic, please request your choice in the comments section below, or contact me on Twitter (@DebbieVee). Include the name and URL of your blog. Then grab one of the banners below, display it on your blog and link it back to this post.

friends10 friends11

Thank you so much for joining in!

THE ROSTER SO FAR:

Moon in Gemini: Desperately Seeking Susan (1985)

Thoughts All Sorts: Adore (2013)

MovieMovieBlogBlogLaurel & Hardy

Realweegiemidget Reviews: Beaches (1988)

Sean MungerThe Queen (2006)

City of Kik: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan (1982)

Cinemaven’s Essays from the Couch: Eve Arden

My Mind Reels Through Films: The Defiant Ones (1958)

Liz Durano: Thelma & Louise (1991)

Once Upon a Screen: Manhattan Melodrama (1934)

Phyllis Loves Classic Movies: My Top Ten Buddy Movies

The Stop Button: Midnight Cowboy (1969)

A Shroud of Thoughts: Rick Blaine and Captain Louis Renault from Casablanca (1942)

Movies Silently: A Little Princess (1918)

MovierobSideways (2004), Fried Green Tomatoes (1991), The Best Years of Our Lives (1946)

B Noir Detour: Walter Neff and Barton Keyes from Double Indemnity (1944)

dbmoviesblog: My Own Private Idaho (1991)

Critica Retro: Chicago (1927)

Pop Culture Reverie: TBD (possibly L.I.E. 2001)

The Wonderful World of Cinema: Charters and Caldicott

In The Good Old Days Of Classic HollywoodThe friendships in All About Eve (1950)

The Cinematic Packrat: Hot Fuzz (2007)

Love Letters to Old Hollywood: Victor/Victoria (1982)

Old Hollywood Films: Rocky Sullivan (James Cagney) and Jerry Connolly (Pat O’Brien) in Angel With Dirty Faces (1938)

Moody Moppet: Death Becomes Her (1992)

BANNERS:

friendsbanner1

friendsbanner2

friendsbanner3

friendsbanner4

friendsbanner5

friendsbanner6

friendsbanner7

friendsbanner8

96 thoughts on “Announcing the “You Gotta Have Friends” Blogathon!

  1. What a beautiful idea for a blogathon! I am going to make a BIIIIIIIIIIIIG stretch on this one and ask to cover YOUNG FRANKENSTEIN. I realize it’s most a Mel Brooks farce (and a very funny one), but nevertheless, I’ve always seen a special bond between Frankenstein and his creation.

      1. Debbie, I hope this is not too much trouble but I wonder if I might be able to change my topic. Instead of doing “Fellowship of the Ring,” may I instead do “The Queen”? I just saw it again recently and was struck by how appropriate (and subtle, perhaps) it would be for this blogathon.

  2. Hi there Moon In Gemini ~ What a great idea for a blogathon. I’d like to cover the friendship of the best gal a gal could ever have. If EVE ARDEN is your friend…you know she’s really got your back. I’m CineMaven of CineMaven’s Essays from the Couch. Here’s the link to my website: cinemavensessaysfromthecouch.wordpress.com

  3. Hi Debbie,

    I’ll do something on MANHATTAN MELODRAMA (1934). Childhood froends griw up on different sides of the law.

    Great topic!

    Aurora
    Once Upon a Screen
    @CitizenScreen

  4. I would like to join in. I haven’t fully decided what I would like to cover, but I think I will write about the solid friendship between Agnes as Sara Warren and Jane Wyman as Cary Scott in “All That Heaven Allows”. It’s a rather unusual one, but I think the pairing represents a true friendship when Sara sticks by Cary when the rest of her friends and family disapprove of Cary being involved with Ron Kirby.

    My blog: In The Good Old Days Of Classic Hollywood

  5. What an interesting idea for a blogathon. I haven’t quite decided on a specific film, but it’ll be one of the Cornetto films (Shaun of the Dead, Hot Fuzz and The Worlds End) from Edgar Wright, Simon Pegg and Nick Frost or Paul (which also stars Pegg and Frost). If you couldn’t tell, I’ll be focusing on the friendship of Pegg and Frost in one of these four films. Will let you know which one I pick.

    My blog is https://thecinematicpackrat.wordpress.com/

  6. Debbie, you beat me to the punch — in a few months, I was actually going to announce a blogathon for the exact same topic. We must be on the same wavelength!

    I’ll take Victor/Victoria (1982), please! LoveLettersToOldHollywood.blogspot.com.

    1. I kid you not: the same thing happened to me twice! I even had banners made up for one when someone announced the identical topic. Occupational hazard, I guess. 😉

      Thanks for joining!

  7. Man, what I wouldn’t give for a eidetic memory. Two movies come to mind which I haven’t seen since the 80’s and doubt I could find in time at this late a date. One is “A Boy and His Dog” which featured a very young Don Johnson and a telepathic dog in a post apocalyptic future. The other is “Heartbeeps”, with Andy Kaufman and Bernadette Peters as robots falling in love. Talk about quirky friendships… Maybe I can find one or the other for the sequel next year.
    I’ll stay out this year, but keep me in mind if you do it again next year.

  8. Hi Debbie! My name is Paul Batters writing through my blog Silver Screen Classics in Australia. I’d love to participate and write a piece on ‘Captains Courageous’ (1937). Look forward to this opportunity! Many thanks, Paul.

Leave a comment